Stuff I Write, Stuff I Like

Stuff I Like: Flight Lessons and The Zen of Take-Off

In Uncategorized on January 24, 2013 at 1:36 am

I was a flight attendant for seven years. You might know that. I write about it a lot. It’s hard not to write about a job like that. “Flying test tubes,” flight attendants call planes, because of all the things that could and do happen in there.

imagesCA12SSNQ

My favorite thing about flying is take-off. Sure, it’s the most dangerous part of a flight. It’s terrifying enough that strangers will reach across the aisle and hold hands and then avoid eye contact later.

But I love the feeling of throttling down a runway at 500 miles an hour. I love the way the wheels lift up. I love the push of air beneath my feet. I love that something so heavy could become in an instant weightless.

I love every impossible thing about it. I figure if something so huge can fly with all those human hearts wrapped up inside it, anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

